The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:07 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: dolomite xr4x4i
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:29 pm 
Hello,

I recently purchased a dolomite sprint with the idea to restore, but the engine has died and i cant find a problem so ive decided to convert to a sierra xr4x4i 2.8 and was wondering if anyone has heard of this being done before, also wanted to know if it is a good idea?
I would be greatfull for any advice
thanks Tom.
:bluewave:

Post subject: Re: dolomite xr4x4i
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:47 pm 
No reason why it couldn't be done given the right skill, time and money although i have never known it done before.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:51 pm 
well im a fabricator by trade and im pretty logically minded so im hoping it will go well

tom

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:32 pm 
Are you keeping the four wheel drive...? :)

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:38 pm 
Future Club member hopefully!

Iirc, there's one with a Cologne V6 in it up north somewhere.
Not seen or heard of a 4x4 one, though Adam was contemplating it when he broke that Impreza :lol: .
That would be awesome.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:40 pm 
yeh with any luck if i can work it into the available space :lol:

tom

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:42 pm 
yeh it would be awesome i just hope i have the skill to pull it off, im only 20 with no experience doing a conversion like this so its going to be a struggle but im sure i can work it out :roll:

tom

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:41 pm 
For what its worth if you want my advice, take it slowly and measure a lot and do not rely on anyone else doing the measuring for you, when things start to go wrong stop and have a cuppa/ beer/ whiskey/ lemsip or any combination of the above then go back to it with a fresh mind :lol: