The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:23 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 12 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:22 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: Nr Kenilworth
Ah youve got a fair bit to do then, its easier when the momentum starts isnt it? Ive spent the last 2 days of lovely weather cleaning 3 sprint blocks, prepping and painting a prop and rear roll bar and make new fuel pipes front to rear. If i'd taken the sprint out id get nothing done lol. Downsizing the stash is hard but necessary sometimes lol

Tony

_________________
Membership 2014047


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2017 8:57 pm 
Offline
TDC Shropshire Area Organiser

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 4275
Location: Highley, Shropshire
Not much to report atm, the shell is still away, recent contact indicates an ETA of somewhere around the middle of the month!

Meanwhile, having offered the engine to the subframe successfully, I have turned my attention to the wiring loom. I carefully salvaged every scrap of wire from the Omega donor, along with most of the switchgear, ecu's relays etc and had a vague plan to use the entire harnesses in the Sprint. Sanity has prevailed, there just ISN'T ROOM for all that wire and a lot of it is redundant! I have spent most of easter weekend and bank holiday weekend de-taping and tracing about 100 separate wires back to sources - and thats just from the 4 plugs from the engine/trans into the body! Since the Omega has frills like fly-by-wire throttle and a massive transmission ecu, there are still quite a few more leads to trace! I am rapidly becoming as familiar with Vauxhall colour codes as I am with Joe Lucas' offerings! I can't help wondering, however, why there are 4 or 5 wires running direct from the engine ECU to the aircon control panel, weird or what? I am also attempting to keep the trip computer operational and the engine/trans diagnostic plug functional. Only time will tell!

Pics to follow when the phone is charged up again!

Steve

_________________
2 door '73 Toledo with Vauxhall Carlton engine OWF 797M (The Carledo)
Vermillion (and Rust) Sprint Auto EGP 247T (The Dolomega)
'91 Cavalier 2ltr 8v auto
'95 Cavalier 2ltr 16v auto
Spectrum Auto Services, Servicing, Repairs, MOT prep. Apprentice served Triumph Specialist for 40 years and home of Maverick Triumph.PM for more info or quotes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 9:01 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Steve

Only just come across this thread,nice work,have you got the PAS going yet,and what one are you using

Dave


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 11:20 pm 
Offline
TDC Shropshire Area Organiser

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 4275
Location: Highley, Shropshire
Quote:
Steve

Only just come across this thread,nice work,have you got the PAS going yet,and what one are you using

Dave


I'm still not sure about the PAS, it would be SO much easier to leave it stock! And I am skirting the BIVA regs pretty closely as it is, losing the 2 points for original steering might tip it over the edge! However I have worked out a way to mount the MGF column that I bought ages ago and have enough bits (and wire) to make it work - I think! The way the system works with everything inside the cabin means I CAN add it later if the mood takes me, At the moment, my main drive is to getting it up and running.

Steve

_________________
2 door '73 Toledo with Vauxhall Carlton engine OWF 797M (The Carledo)
Vermillion (and Rust) Sprint Auto EGP 247T (The Dolomega)
'91 Cavalier 2ltr 8v auto
'95 Cavalier 2ltr 16v auto
Spectrum Auto Services, Servicing, Repairs, MOT prep. Apprentice served Triumph Specialist for 40 years and home of Maverick Triumph.PM for more info or quotes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Quote:
Quote:
Steve

Only just come across this thread,nice work,have you got the PAS going yet,and what one are you using

Dave


I'm still not sure about the PAS, it would be SO much easier to leave it stock! And I am skirting the BIVA regs pretty closely as it is, losing the 2 points for original steering might tip it over the edge! However I have worked out a way to mount the MGF column that I bought ages ago and have enough bits (and wire) to make it work - I think! The way the system works with everything inside the cabin means I CAN add it later if the mood takes me, At the moment, my main drive is to getting it up and running.

Steve
Steve

You have the advantage of having an auto one less pedal to get in the way
:D :D
is there much difference between the mgf PAS and corsa ?

Dave


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 10:10 pm 
Offline
TDC Shropshire Area Organiser

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 4275
Location: Highley, Shropshire
I don't think The MG system would work at all in a manual car, the gap between the pedals is just too narrow. The advantage of the MGF system ,is that it is designed to fit to a Metro rack so splines and fittings are all about right for the Sprint. The disadvantages are bulk and inflexibilty, its quite big and it needs to go where it wants to be and if anything else needs that space (like a clutch pedal box) you are basically stuffed!
I still haven't got up close and personal with a Corsa column, but from what I can gather the Corsa unit is considerably smaller and can be easily divorced from the upper section and switch gear etc. I believe one of my co-experimenters has managed to get one in under the bonnet between the bulkhead and the rack.
I have to admit, I AM a little leery of fabricating safety critical components like the column itself, not because I doubt my own skills (but what if....) but because if a UJ in this fabricated part wears out, I will have to fab another. I have found a lower column with a UJ at each end that fits the splines on the rack and the bottom of the column (it's from a PAS equipped T 2000) and seems about the right length. But this would not give any telescoping facility and I don't want to go backwards in engineering!
It's all a bit moot till the shell comes back and I can do a bit more experimenting, like putting a seat in and lashing the MG column up to the original mount with cable ties or something to define a position for the unit. ATM I also don't have a steering wheel for the MG column having (perhaps foolishly) discarded the airbag equipped original. I have a lovely Momo wheel to go on the car, but have not yet bought a boss for it since I don't know whether I need a boss for a Sprint, or an MGF, or even a Vauxhall!

Steve

_________________
2 door '73 Toledo with Vauxhall Carlton engine OWF 797M (The Carledo)
Vermillion (and Rust) Sprint Auto EGP 247T (The Dolomega)
'91 Cavalier 2ltr 8v auto
'95 Cavalier 2ltr 16v auto
Spectrum Auto Services, Servicing, Repairs, MOT prep. Apprentice served Triumph Specialist for 40 years and home of Maverick Triumph.PM for more info or quotes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 10:49 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Steve

Thanks,not started yet still getti ng bits together

Dave


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 9:22 pm 
Offline
Future Club member hopefully!
Future Club member hopefully!

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 8:45 pm
Posts: 11461
Location: Middlesex
Grandma sucking eggs and all that but suspect the air con control panel to ECU is needed so that the ECU can tell when the a/c is
on and hence imposing compressor load...

But you already knew that I suspect....

Jonners

_________________
If I haven't done it in or to a dolomite, I know somebody who has....


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 10:54 pm 
Offline
TDC Shropshire Area Organiser

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 4275
Location: Highley, Shropshire
Quote:
Grandma sucking eggs and all that but suspect the air con control panel to ECU is needed so that the ECU can tell when the a/c is
on and hence imposing compressor load...

But you already knew that I suspect....

Jonners
Agree Jon, a bit of thought brought me to the same conclusion, a branch of one of the wires ends up at the tacho! Which makes sense!

The trouble with this loom is that you have to work out what you need and what you can do without! I have successfully traced about 100 wires from 3 multiplugs from the engine/trans and the body side of the ECU plug to their destinations all over the car, a lot seem quite simple and logical, others go to weird places like the ABS block and relay blocks that have no relay in them! What I don't want to do is discard some apparently useless lead that stops the engine from running! Most of these wierd and wonderful leads split up and go to several places and my thinking is that if one or two end up somewhere useful, the other branches can be discarded. But I am minded of a mate who put a Williams 172 engine in an earlier, smaller, Clio. He put the loom in with it but a numpty had cut the ABS plug and wires off - and it wouldn't run until he reinstated the plug AND the ABS block! Amid much swearing and gnashing of teeth! Several wires go to the Chip reciever that fits around the steering lock (yes I kept this - and the key with chip that matches it!), so of course then I had to trace ALL the other leads out of it, to make sure that doesn't stop it! And so on! It really is turning into the 8th labour of Hercules! Still, I suppose it could be worse, it could be CanBus!

Steve

_________________
2 door '73 Toledo with Vauxhall Carlton engine OWF 797M (The Carledo)
Vermillion (and Rust) Sprint Auto EGP 247T (The Dolomega)
'91 Cavalier 2ltr 8v auto
'95 Cavalier 2ltr 16v auto
Spectrum Auto Services, Servicing, Repairs, MOT prep. Apprentice served Triumph Specialist for 40 years and home of Maverick Triumph.PM for more info or quotes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:47 am 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:58 am
Posts: 1110
Location: London
Did the Vauxhall have an OBD socket ?

If so, a simple diag tool will show up what is not working, and allow you to
trace and rectify the wiring.

_________________
NRW 581W Sprint


On the motorway no one can hear me sing!
Construed as a public service, self preservation in reality.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:16 pm 
Offline
TDC Shropshire Area Organiser

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 4275
Location: Highley, Shropshire
It does indeed have an OBD socket and I am carefully saving it and the leads to it. However, of the 16 available pins, only 7 actually have wires, 1 is permanent live, 2 appear to be earth, 1 goes to the engine ECU and 1 to the trans ECU. I suspect the other 2 are ABS and airbag diagnostic, both of which systems I have discarded, so it may just work! At some point I am just going to have to "suck it and see!"

Just another of many problems, to get all your minds working, when I removed the engine and trans from the donor car, I unavoidably lost about a half litre or so of trans fluid in the trans cooler and pipes, plus a bit of spillage before I could get the cooler pipes connected together. This is a problem? It is when there is no dipstick or any visible plug to top up the transmission! Perhaps Harvey may have an idea, the box is from a late 2000 built 2.2 Omega, made AFAIK by Aisin/Warner. Failing that I may have to ring Andy Frost (of Red Victor 3 fame) at Penn Auto and see if he can shed any light!

Steve

_________________
2 door '73 Toledo with Vauxhall Carlton engine OWF 797M (The Carledo)
Vermillion (and Rust) Sprint Auto EGP 247T (The Dolomega)
'91 Cavalier 2ltr 8v auto
'95 Cavalier 2ltr 16v auto
Spectrum Auto Services, Servicing, Repairs, MOT prep. Apprentice served Triumph Specialist for 40 years and home of Maverick Triumph.PM for more info or quotes.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:22 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:58 am
Posts: 1110
Location: London
That sounds like the right number of leads on the OBD, I had to install
the fleet navigation/tracking unit in the works van, and thats roughly right.

_________________
NRW 581W Sprint


On the motorway no one can hear me sing!
Construed as a public service, self preservation in reality.


Top
   
 Post subject: Okay…...
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 2:30 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:22 pm
Posts: 6077
Location: Caithness, Scotland
According to the Haynes manual I have for all Omega petrol models 94-99
"the level plug is fitted to the right hand side of the main sump".
The level should be checked with the engine hot.

Did they change the auto 'boxes for the later models?



Ian.

_________________
TDC Forum moderator
PLEASE help us to maintain a friendly forum,
either PM or use Report Post if you see anything you are unhappy with. Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 3:03 pm 
Offline
TDC Shropshire Area Organiser

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:12 pm
Posts: 4275
Location: Highley, Shropshire
I'll have another look Ian, but I looked fairly carefully already. I really don't know if they changed the box again, the only auto's I have experience of in this range is the 88-93 Carlton box - and there are 3 distinct evolutions of that, all less electronicised (if that's a word) and all have dipsticks, so I am fishing in the dark! Does your Haynes give a model number for the described box? If so, I can check it against mine.

Cheers, Steve

_________________
2 door '73 Toledo with Vauxhall Carlton engine OWF 797M (The Carledo)
Vermillion (and Rust) Sprint Auto EGP 247T (The Dolomega)
'91 Cavalier 2ltr 8v auto
'95 Cavalier 2ltr 16v auto
Spectrum Auto Services, Servicing, Repairs, MOT prep. Apprentice served Triumph Specialist for 40 years and home of Maverick Triumph.PM for more info or quotes.


Top
   
 Post subject: Yes..
PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 8:49 am 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:22 pm
Posts: 6077
Location: Caithness, Scotland
AR25 (2.0 and 2.5 litre engine) and AR35 (3.0 litre engine)



Ian.

_________________
TDC Forum moderator
PLEASE help us to maintain a friendly forum,
either PM or use Report Post if you see anything you are unhappy with. Thanks.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 12 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited