The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 7:41 am

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: 1978 Sprint..........
PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:52 am 
Hello everybody, total newbie here. My name is Lee, and I recently aquired, after much badgering, my Bosses Sprint from him. The story of the car, well, the car was restored in 1994, but the guy who was doing the car got fed up, and after getting the cam timing incorrect, thought sod it. He owed my boss some money for services rendered, and the thrashed out a deal. The car then spent 19 years in a (thankfully dry) container, and didn't see the light of day until last October. I had been trying to buy the car from him for many years without even seeing her, but I finally clapped my eyes on her, and knew that it was destiny! So, a few weeks ago, I asked again, and I must have got my timing right as he aggreed!
So, that weekend, I paid me money and got her home to my newly built garage, to start a new life living next to my Rover SD1 Rally/Drift car project.
Anyway, plans with the car...............I have started to strip her down, and I intend to restore her to her former, totally original (ish) glory, I may just implement a few modifications/tweeks here and there to bring her up to modern standards and then hope to enjoy her through the summer.
But, being absolutely new to the Triumph brand, I will no doubt be asking for some (lots of) tips and advice as the project unfolds.
Anyway, here are some pics, feel free to comment and let me know what you think....................

Her first night at home, the pictures make her out to be mint, they lie..................

However, the shell is just about as good as you will get, she has had some extremly small patches of welding, but very little..........

That needs to come out..............

There we go...............