The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 11:37 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 1:56 pm 
Future Club member hopefully!

I've just got my Sprint back after the steering rack was replaced for the MOT. And the pull to the right I've been complaining about for a couple of years has gone. At least it seems to have: the steering is a bit more damped than before, and I was wondering if uping the damping might mask the problem, but never got round to it before the rack failed the MOT.

I have to admit, that leaves me even further at a loss to understand what the heck is going on with the pull - and how come the garage managed to measure the left wheelbase as 8-10 mm longer than the right, if it's OK now.

Anybody got any good theories?

Graham

Factory 1977 TR7 Sprint FHC VVC 697S (Now all of, but still needs putting together)
B&Y 73 Dolomite Sprint UVB 274M (kids!)
1970 Maroon 13/60 Herald Convertable (wife's fun car).

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:49 pm 
My theory is your steering rack was fooked.
Just a theory mind, if I'd been able to remove the rack, check it, replace if necessary and set up the tracking I would be able to prove it.
As it is, my theory is worth bugger all, like all theories. Theories need proofs.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:02 am 

My theory is this.
I have known draglink nuts to come loose until the nut gets to the split pin.
Could be the steady bars on the back axle having the washers set wrong.
I have had a partial seize of an original brake caliper (most likely culprit).
Collapsing flexable brake pipe.
These are just some of the possible causes.
Check everything but if its gone its a result.

The lunatic is out................heres Jonny!

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:46 am