The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Water pump clearance?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:00 am 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: Nr Kenilworth
What is the bolt to cover clearance on a Sprint please?. Book says 010" to 025" (0.25 to 0.5mm) but I believe some run a bigger clearance than this. Be nice to make this an easy search. I tried searching and theres a few threads with Jonners' how to rebuild etc but no figure on the clearance. :)

Cheers

Tony

_________________
Membership 2014047


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:17 am 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:48 pm
Posts: 7756
Location: Weston-super-Mare, England
I've always done them +0.010" Tony.

_________________
Sprintless for the first time in 35+ years. :boggle2:

2007 Porsche Boxster S


Image

Grammar:
The difference between knowing your sh#t and knowing you're sh#t.

Schedule: Pronounced "Shedule" not "Scedule"!


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:14 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:41 pm
Posts: 841
Location: Silsoe, Beds
I didn't bother with the feeler gauge method of shimming the water pump,

I used a length of lead wire, sat it on top of the LH bolt, tightened down the housing, removed and used a micrometer to measure the thickness of the lead wire.

I should also state that I did clean the head of the LH bolt first to ensure it was flat.

Malcolm


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:47 am 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: Nr Kenilworth
010" thou is the book minimum So I may go a tad bigger than that. Ive measured both sides with a depth gauge and can calc from that. Think I'll aim for 020".

Cheers

Tony

_________________
Membership 2014047


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 6:10 pm
Posts: 1718
Location: Holland on sea
I always got away with using the thickest gasket that came with the repair kit 8)

_________________
1977 Flamenco sprint (VGY)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:26 pm 
Offline
Future Club member hopefully!
Future Club member hopefully!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:42 am
Posts: 929
Tony

Have a read of this:viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7214#p67964

Paul

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:28 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:13 am
Posts: 2388
Location: The continent
Quote:
I always got away with using the thickest gasket that came with the repair kit 8)
Me too.

Jeroen

_________________
Classic Kabelboom Company. For all your wiring needs. http://www.classickabelboomcompany.com


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:13 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: Nr Kenilworth
Thats what I went with in the end. :)

Tony
Quote:
Quote:
I always got away with using the thickest gasket that came with the repair kit 8)
Me too.

Jeroen

_________________
Membership 2014047


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:21 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1806
Location: Nr Kenilworth
Cheers Paul, but that thread doesnt give a dimension, at least no that Ive seen speed reading it. I know all the mechanics of how to rebuild but was after the "increased" clearance. Ive now built it with 20 thou clearance so I'll see how it goes (I have major mods going on that may well cause more problems lol.

Cheers

Tony
Quote:
Tony

Have a read of this:viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7214#p67964

Paul

_________________
Membership 2014047


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:05 am 
Offline
Future Club member hopefully!
Future Club member hopefully!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:42 am
Posts: 929
Quote:
Cheers Paul, but that thread doesnt give a dimension, at least no that Ive seen speed reading it. I know all the mechanics of how to rebuild but was after the "increased" clearance. Ive now built it with 20 thou clearance so I'll see how it goes (I have major mods going on that may well cause more problems lol.

Cheers

Tony
Quote:
Tony

Have a read of this:viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7214#p67964

Paul
Tony

yes no sizes mentioned - but it states the old school way of checking bolt to cover clearence "Feeler gauges" like the manual states.

Paul

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:44 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:52 pm
Posts: 1835
Quote:
I used a length of lead wire, sat it on top of the LH bolt, tightened down the housing, removed and used a micrometer to measure the thickness of the lead wire.
I should also state that I did clean the head of the LH bolt first to ensure it was flat.

Malcolm
Now I really like that idea. I imagine you used a length of thick solder wire.
Since I reckon the actual important dimension is the water-pump vane to cover clearance, I wonder if the idea could be extended to creating a flat spiral of lead wire to overlay the pump vanes, tighten down the cover and measure the actual clearance between the cover and the vanes ?
And see how this compares with the bolt-to-cover dimension perhaps ?

Tony.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Karlos and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited