The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:16 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:09 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Harrow Middlesex
I've got a couple of wiring questions

1/ what colour are the wires that feed the horn
2/ how are the wires run that feed the starter motor,do they run along the anti role bar

Thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:40 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:48 pm
Posts: 7863
Location: Weston-super-Mare, England
On a Sprint, purple & black wires to the horn +ve, black earth.

The wires for the starter are run inside the front rail of the subframe. There should be two holes in the subframe for plastic clips.

_________________
Sprintless for the first time in 35+ years. :boggle2:

2007 Porsche Boxster S


Image

Grammar:
The difference between knowing your sh#t and knowing you're sh#t.

Schedule: Pronounced "Shedule" not "Scedule"!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 6:27 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Harrow Middlesex
thanks Mart

Found horn wide today,didn't see holes for the clips for starter motor

Thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:53 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Got another question,where does the live feed block mount,and can you get inside it to replace a cable ?

Thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:20 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Harrow Middlesex
does the live block/feed open up,if so how and where is it mounted to the car

Thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:48 pm 
Offline
Future Club member hopefully!
Future Club member hopefully!
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:42 am
Posts: 944
Quote:
thanks Mart

Found horn wide today,didn't see holes for the clips for starter motor

Thanks Dave

The holes are the back side of the front cross member on the subframe

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:53 pm 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:13 am
Posts: 2498
Location: The continent
Quote:
does the live block/feed open up,if so how and where is it mounted to the car

Thanks Dave
It is attached to the starter cable around the alternator. It can open up but the wires have spade connectors so no need.

Jeroen

_________________
Classic Kabelboom Company. For all your wiring needs. http://www.classickabelboomcompany.com


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:01 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Quote:
Quote:
thanks Mart

Found horn wide today,didn't see holes for the clips for starter motor

Thanks Dave

The holes are the back side of the front cross member on the subframe
thanks I'll have a other look

Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 6:10 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Quote:
Quote:
does the live block/feed open up,if so how and where is it mounted to the car

Thanks Dave
It is attached to the starter cable around the alternator. It can open up but the wires have spade connectors so no need.

Jeroen
Jeroen

I think the battery cable is short, that's why I wanted to get inside the feed block,where is the feed block mounted

Thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wiring loom
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:54 am 
Offline
TDC Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:13 am
Posts: 2498
Location: The continent
The feedblock is crimped to the startercable. When you have no starter cable you don't have a feedblock either.

Jeroen.

_________________
Classic Kabelboom Company. For all your wiring needs. http://www.classickabelboomcompany.com


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Triumph1300 and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited