The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:48 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: New member, familiar car
PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 2:24 pm 
Hi. I'd just like to say 'hello' and introduce myself as the new owner of Nobleox_Toledo's 1975 Toledo, Maggie.

I've just got out of her after driving her about 150 miles since yesterday afternoon, and when I got in my Clio to park it elsewhere the pedals felt so light I though they had broken :)

I'm completely new to Triumphs and only got round to learning to drive in 2010, then aged 36... one way to avoid sky-high insurance premiums as a teenager, I suppose.

Any advice you have for looking after Maggie would be welcome, as would a 'hello' from anyone who's reading :D If anyone's in Essex (or specifically in Colchester), you'll probably see me driving her around from time to time.

And though I'm sure it has been asked a million times before, can anyone point me to an idiot's guide for wiring in a 12v power socket? The 'grab two wires from here and crimp or solder them here' sort of thing?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:16 pm 
Future Club member hopefully!
Future Club member hopefully!

Welcome to the forum.

I live just outside Colchester and I'm also the Essex rep.

Hopefully someone will be along soon to point you in the right direction as to where to wire the plug in.

Good luck and there a good bunch here who can answer any other questions you may have.

All the best

Darren

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 3:45 pm 
Hello! I also lurk around Colchester but live in North London. Welcome to the world of skinned knuckles, bloodshot eyes and an empty wallet.

Ken

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2012 4:37 pm 
Quote:
Hello! I also lurk around Colchester but live in North London. Welcome to the world of skinned knuckles, bloodshot eyes and an empty wallet.

Ken