The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 2:49 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Hi, newbie here
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 7:57 pm 
Hi all, I'm new to the forums and to triumphs. I recently purchased a 1977 1500 Triumph Dolomite.
I did all (what I thought) obvious bits to take the car for an MOT, well....... Less than a mile down the road the clutch seemed to stop working and my foot went to the floor, then both my back wheel drums started smoking, I managed to get the car home.
After a better look, I checked my clutch fluid, it was still full, but black.
I noticed spray like marks on the underside of the bonnet so I took the oil cap off, and noticed there seemed to be a milky white substance mixing with the oil, I also had a look under the car and there's loads of oil on the center of the rear axle. The car starts fine and the brakes work. I'm not really sure where to go from here or where to start, I've read a lot of conflicting advice about slave cylinders, condensation, head gaskets etc, was hoping someone here may have a better idea of what's going on.
Thanks, Gloria.

Post subject: Re: Hi, newbie here
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:26 pm 
Welcome. :bluewave:
Where are you?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:37 pm 
i'm in Basingstoke Hampshire :)

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 11:36 pm 
Not too far from me.

You will have a hydraulic problem with the clutch. Have a look and see if the master or slave is leaking.

If there is excess mayo in the engine the headgasket might have gone so perhaps get a compression test done and do the obvious checks I.e. is the coolant oily, is there a stream of bubbles in the coolant tank when running, is it using excess water?