The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 3:12 pm

All times are UTC+01:00

Post subject: Starting problems
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:42 pm 
Hello there.
I'm a brand new owner of a 1500 FWD (1972), and I'm brand new to owning a classic car!
I have a persistent and irritating starting problem at the moment and wondered if anyone had any good ideas.
I had a new battery fitted and she was fine for a week, but now she refuses to start unless jump-started. The engine cranks and sounds like it turns over once, slowly, the dash lights dim, and then nothing. Headlights etc come on fine. If you jump start her then she goes every time straight away and runs fine.
My current suspicion is the starter motor (which has been given a judicious whack or two), rather than the battery (which is only a week and half old), though it's possible that the alternator isn't charging the battery properly (not really had her long enough, or been far enough, to work that one out). Not sure where the voltmeter ought to be sitting under normal conditions.
Any tips for where to start, similar problems encountered? Hope I'm not just being dense! :?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:51 pm 
TDC Member

The voltmeter should be reading around 14v when running. Any less than this and it would indicate a charging problem. If it worked for a while with a new battery and then stopped it sounds a bit like the alternator is giving you some trouble. Once you have a reading from the voltmeter it should tell you all you need to know.

Post subject: Dodgy alternator...
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:57 pm 
TDC West Mids Area Organiser

...or, could be a drain somewhere if it stood for a week and then wouldn't start...

Dimming of lights is either low battery power or an horrendous draw such as by a knackered starter...