The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:10 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:53 am 
I have landed here cause I’m looking for a pic [or even old work mates] from the old Saunders Abbott garage 1 wickam road, which was just along the road from the Chinese garage.

it was definitely a bmc/bl dealer/triumph etc in 1966 as I was a mechanic there. Owned by Harry and Richard Epps, they also started a very small garage in Albamar rd which seems to be the registered address of Saunders Abbott. At the time it just a curved tunnel that went under a new office block,[they must have added some space], it was wide enough for a car and some tools [as I recall].

It was a surprise to me to learn from this forum that Bromly motor company [is the name right] was at 1 Wickam road in 1967, I must left just before.

Hope some one can help as there’s no mention of Saunders Abbott, at 1 wickam rd, out there I can find. I have called the current Saunders Abbott, they deny any knowledge of of a connection

Thanks mark

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 7:20 pm 
Future Club member hopefully!

Hi Mark. It is a long time since you did the Saunders Abbot post and I hope you are still in this world.
By chance recently I contacted the Beckenham Historic society regards old pics of Saunders Abbott. I sent what I had and they may get published in the Autumn. Anyway jest of this is I googled my Uncles garage today and saw your post. I registered on this site so I could message you. I was there "61/'62 era and have pics of the then workers and the place. I have often wondered if the lads made it in life or are indeed still alive. If you are interested message me. Tim Epps

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:34 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Sadly Mark no longer uses this forum. He is an ex Forum member.