The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:26 am

All times are UTC+01:00

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:29 pm 
Hi folks and thanks for the account activation!

I'm fond of classic cars, my favourites being Triumph (my dream car is a Stag). However, having only just learnt to drive in a Fiat Punto, I didn't expect to be getting a classic anytime soon. However, last night I was given a Toledo 1300cc, 4 door, in great condition. It's an ex-Triumph Demonstration vehicle, and has only had one previous owner (my friend, who gave it to me to restore). It's done ~22,000 miles, and aside from a small amount of rust on the right rear wing looks like its in good nick.

Suffice to say this isn't my car :P. Its in Triumph yellow, with black trim and I will post pics soon, as soon as I get my camera charged.

Anyway, as I'm new to the classic car scene I'm after some advice. There is some damage to the engine, and some scoring around it - that I assume I can sand down. The engine however needs either stripping down and rebuilding, or just replacing - haven't a clue what to do, any advice?

Should I try to get a new clutch for it and replace that whilst the engine is out?

Can anyone recommend a good supplier of parts/refurb work. Whilst I'd rather do most myself (eg cheaply), I haven't much of a clue about engines so will probably need some help.

I'm in Cambridge, so if anyone knows any local places, then even better.

TIA :)

Last edited by Russ on Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:53 pm 
TDC Member

Replacement engines are easy and quite cheap to find. take a look on ebay (1300 engines for triumph spitfires will work too).

Some pictures of the damage would be good so we can see what you mean. Does the engine run?