The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:29 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:47 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Harrow Middlesex
What size/amps is a sprint alternator ?

thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:24 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Alternator on early Sprints (in workshop manual for '75 - '76 model) is listed as Lucas 17ACR, nominal output 36Amps @ 12V.
Possible change for later years....

_________________
I have a fine and extensive collection of old rust. I store it carefully in a Stag.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:48 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Quote:
Alternator on early Sprints (in workshop manual for '75 - '76 model) is listed as Lucas 17ACR, nominal output 36Amps @ 12V.
Possible change for later years....
thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 8:55 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Harrow Middlesex
thinking of using an up graded alternator,as planned upgrades include central locking electric Windows and may be heated windscreen,would I need to upgrade the wiring to the alternator ?

Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 9:26 pm 
Offline
TDC West Mids Area Organiser
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:13 pm
Posts: 12005
Location: Over here...can't you see me?
No, you can use the A127 unit from Maestro/Montego/Metro 65 amp plus and it even has the correct plug fitment on the back


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2018 7:57 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Quote:
No, you can use the A127 unit from Maestro/Montego/Metro 65 amp plus and it even has the correct plug fitment on the back
Alun

thanks Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 1:12 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
thinking of using an up graded alternator,as planned upgrades include central locking electric Windows and may be heated windscreen,would I need to upgrade the wiring to the alternator ?

Dave
Hi Dave,
If you are still running the original wiring loom, then you should upgrade the wiring regardless of whether you are installing new kit or not - the old wiring was crap and underspecified when it was installed, and i'm pretty sure that old insulation doesn't improve like old wine...While you're at it, get an autosparks to put in a proper fuse/relay system if you are going to do any serious upgrade works.

However, to address your actual question - adding central locking adds only a 'momentary' load which normally occurs when the car is not running, electric windows adds only a limited and intermittent load, and a heated windscreen only adds only a few Watts, so the alternator and alternator wiring upgrade is not theoretically necessary unless you are looking to add a high load which will be constant - like big driving lights, high-demand sound system, electric seats/heating/air-conditioning system or the like.

The principle is that the alternator runs the 'normal' running load such as radio, lights, vehicle electrical demands etc and recharges/float charges the battery while the car is running, and the battery provides the capacitance to store or discharge energy outside the 'normal' range, for instance to cover the power dip or surge when you turn your lights on or off. If you've added heaps of 'stuff' to the electrical/Electronic load, then you need to measure or calculate the demand on the alternator whilst the car is running and fully loaded (electrically) and compare that to the wire size to ensure the cable isn't overloaded to avoid the risk of fire in the wiring loom.
Is that too much for one post?

_________________
I have a fine and extensive collection of old rust. I store it carefully in a Stag.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 7:19 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:53 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Harrow Middlesex
Quote:
Quote:
thinking of using an up graded alternator,as planned upgrades include central locking electric Windows and may be heated windscreen,would I need to upgrade the wiring to the alternator ?

Dave
Hi Dave,
If you are still running the original wiring loom, then you should upgrade the wiring regardless of whether you are installing new kit or not - the old wiring was crap and underspecified when it was installed, and i'm pretty sure that old insulation doesn't improve like old wine...While you're at it, get an autosparks to put in a proper fuse/relay system if you are going to do any serious upgrade works.

However, to address your actual question - adding central locking adds only a 'momentary' load which normally occurs when the car is not running, electric windows adds only a limited and intermittent load, and a heated windscreen only adds only a few Watts, so the alternator and alternator wiring upgrade is not theoretically necessary unless you are looking to add a high load which will be constant - like big driving lights, high-demand sound system, electric seats/heating/air-conditioning system or the like.

The principle is that the alternator runs the 'normal' running load such as radio, lights, vehicle electrical demands etc and recharges/float charges the battery while the car is running, and the battery provides the capacitance to store or discharge energy outside the 'normal' range, for instance to cover the power dip or surge when you turn your lights on or off. If you've added heaps of 'stuff' to the electrical/Electronic load, then you need to measure or calculate the demand on the alternator whilst the car is running and fully loaded (electrically) and compare that to the wire size to ensure the cable isn't overloaded to avoid the risk of fire in the wiring loom.
Is that too much for one post?
thanks for your input,by the way what Stag have you got mk1 / mk2

Dave


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 1:24 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Stag - '74 Mk2, Carmine red, beige interior, TV8, BW35.
Dolly - '76 Sprint, Mimosa, blue/black interior, 4sp + OD, LSD. Currently upside down on rotisserie..
BMW - '00 330Ci Convertible, Blue, Grey interior, 5sp manual.
RRS - '11, V6 3.0lt diesel, black on black..

_________________
I have a fine and extensive collection of old rust. I store it carefully in a Stag.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2018 8:19 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 9:00 pm
Posts: 900
Quote:
Quote:
thinking of using an up graded alternator,as planned upgrades include central locking electric Windows and may be heated windscreen,would I need to upgrade the wiring to the alternator ?

Dave
............ a heated windscreen only adds only a few Watts, ....
If Dave is talking about a heated FRONT screen (it should already have a heated rear screen) then the current draw was quoted at a nominal 20Amps, which at a nominal 12Volts is 20x12=240Watts.
I've no idea what the original wiring was spec'd at, but I don't reckon 240Watts on an old car is 'a few Watts'.
:)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Sprint Alternator
PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:19 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2016 12:35 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
thinking of using an up graded alternator,as planned upgrades include central locking electric Windows and may be heated windscreen,would I need to upgrade the wiring to the alternator ?

Dave
............ a heated windscreen only adds only a few Watts, ....
If Dave is talking about a heated FRONT screen (it should already have a heated rear screen) then the current draw was quoted at a nominal 20Amps, which at a nominal 12Volts is 20x12=240Watts.
I've no idea what the original wiring was spec'd at, but I don't reckon 240Watts on an old car is 'a few Watts'.
:)
Many Sorries - My mistake... I was thinking rear screen...

_________________
I have a fine and extensive collection of old rust. I store it carefully in a Stag.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited