The Triumph Dolomite Club - Discussion Forum

The Number One Club for owners of Triumph's range of small saloons from the 1960s and 1970s.
It is currently Tue Oct 27, 2020 6:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:57 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:18 am
Posts: 18
Location: Perth, Australia
Hi all
My elderly mother has a Citroen C1 that has warning lights showing. The Tyre pressure, dynamic stability control and emission control. Research online suggests these 3 on at same time could be a number of issues
Reset Tyre pressure
Replace lambda sensor
Or the IT default! Disconnect battery and this resets ECU

Local garage suggested We can fix for 1800 gbp but did not give quote on what they would fix for that price. A lambda sensor is not that expensive, or that difficult to swap?

Looking for someone whom is not likely to rip her off. Anyone in Devon that can recommend?

Being in Australia makes it hard for me to assist at these times


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:30 am 
Offline
TDC Cheshire Area Organiser

Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:28 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: NANTWICH.
Hi Gerard, is there anyone your mother knows that can give it a damn good thrashing for a few miles? That maybe all it need's. Re-set the tyre pressure light can be done by nearly anybody under the age of 10 :lol: It needs someone to read the handbook it will be that what is bringing the stability light on. A good thrash should remove the crap off the lamda sensor.

Tony.

_________________
NOW A CLUB MEMBER 2017057 :bluewave:


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:01 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:18 am
Posts: 18
Location: Perth, Australia
Hi Tony

Thanks for the tip. I’ll see if I can get someone local to give that a go and if no luck. I’ll do some more hunting for a mechanic in Exeter.

Cheers
Gerard


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:21 pm 
Offline
TDC Cheshire Area Organiser

Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:28 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: NANTWICH.
I doubt it will be much Gerrard, stay away from the main dealer, they love the elderley so they can sell them a new car :evil: :evil: :evil: Go for a small one man band type of garage.

Tony.

_________________
NOW A CLUB MEMBER 2017057 :bluewave:


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 10:32 am 
Offline
TDC West Yorks Area Organiser
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 4:52 pm
Posts: 7739
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire
If I was closer I'd be able to connect my laptop which has Diagbox installed. This is the software that dealers and specialists use. If you're savvy enough, you can buy it on Amazon or eBay and have a go yourself. It might be possible to recalibrate the tyre pressure sensors. I managed to do this on an F30 BMW 3 Series following the replacement of a blown out tyre.

_________________
Toledo Man

West Yorkshire Area Organiser & forum moderator
Meetings take place on the first Wednesday of the month at 8.00pm at The Old Brickworks, Wakefield Road, Drighlington, Bradford, BD11 1EA
1972 Dolomite 1850 auto (NYE 751L - Waiting for me to give it some love)
2008 Citroën C4 Grand Picasso 2.0 HDi Exclusive (MA08 WCL - the workhorse)
1995 BMW 318i (M265 PNC - Project Bimmer, the 2nd car)
1991 Toyota Celica GT (J481 ONB - the current project car)
Former stable of SAY 414M (1974 Toledo), GRH 244D (1966 1300fwd), CDB 324L (1973 1500fwd), GGN 573J (1971 1500fwd), DCP 625S (1977 Dolomite 1300) & LCG 367N (1975 Dolomite Sprint) plus 5 Acclaims and that's just the Triumphs!

Check my blog at http://triumphtoledo.blogspot.com

"There is only one way to avoid criticsm: do nothing, say nothing and BE nothing." Aristotle


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 11:19 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:18 am
Posts: 18
Location: Perth, Australia
Quote:
If I was closer I'd be able to connect my laptop which has Diagbox installed. This is the software that dealers and specialists use. If you're savvy enough, you can buy it on Amazon or eBay and have a go yourself. It might be possible to recalibrate the tyre pressure sensors. I managed to do this on an F30 BMW 3 Series following the replacement of a blown out tyre.
Thanks Toledo Man
I found someone who will diagnose, quoting error code and price to fix. Hopefully they will be genuine and give my mother the correct code and I can double check what’s needed and sanity check that price is reasonable

Turns out first quote was Citroen main dealer! Maybe the next step would have been, “your car is getting old and maybe it’s time for something safer and me reliable mrs Deegan”


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2020 2:21 pm 
Offline
TDC Cheshire Area Organiser

Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:28 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: NANTWICH.
Quote:
Quote:
If I was closer I'd be able to connect my laptop which has Diagbox installed. This is the software that dealers and specialists use. If you're savvy enough, you can buy it on Amazon or eBay and have a go yourself. It might be possible to recalibrate the tyre pressure sensors. I managed to do this on an F30 BMW 3 Series following the replacement of a blown out tyre.
Thanks Toledo Man


Turns out first quote was Citroen main dealer! Maybe the next step would have been, “your car is getting old and maybe it’s time for something safer and me reliable mrs Deegan”
I thought as much, it makes my blood boil thieving no moral's b*stards :evil: :evil: :evil:

Tony.

_________________
NOW A CLUB MEMBER 2017057 :bluewave:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:18 am
Posts: 18
Location: Perth, Australia
Great to see there are good people doing the right thing. Exeter Auto centre replaced lambda sensor and job done, all up 160 quid. A far cry from 1700!
Mums new garage!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:13 am 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2020 8:18 am
Posts: 18
Location: Perth, Australia
Great to see there are good people doing the right thing. Exeter Auto centre replaced lambda sensor and job done, all up 160 quid. A far cry from 1700!
Mums new garage!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2020 9:14 am 
Offline
TDC Cheshire Area Organiser

Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 5:28 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: NANTWICH.
And the moral of the story....... Stay away from the big boys 8) I really don't know how they sleep at night ripping off the elderly or anyone for that matter...

Great outcome Gerrard.

Tony.

_________________
NOW A CLUB MEMBER 2017057 :bluewave:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Oct 06, 2020 12:59 pm 
Offline
TDC Member

Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 1:22 pm
Posts: 369
Quote:
And the moral of the story....... Stay away from the big boys 8) I really don't know how they sleep at night ripping off the elderly or anyone for that matter...

Great outcome Gerrard.

Tony.
I may be forced to my rip off Volvo dealer because of an ECU for the air bags and SRS going on the blink. Got a replacement, the part number shown as the one for my cars chassis etc by my mates Volvo program called VIDOR after plugging it in to find the fault. It should be plug and play but when we got the original out, which needed stripping out the entertainment system and center consul, it was a different part no. Any way we put it in. VIDOR says it works and all OK air bags will go off. But the dash readout says there's an error and urgent SRS service needed. So MOT fail. It would not clear so rechecked with the VIDOR. Its a software configuration issue, the ECU that drives the read out will not talk to the new ECU. Cost for a dealer to re configure it starts at £600.00. I am advised its apparently a cheap down load to them and a 30 min job. So the old air bag ECU has gone off to a company who say they can fix it, came back Sat, cost £35.00. Fitting it tomorrow so will find out if it works.

The problem is caused by low voltage when a battery discharges or is faulty or alternator faulty and the voltage goes below a certain figure I think 10.5V. The VIDOR even warns operators to be aware of this when doing checks that may drain the battery. Recently it had a new battery which was faulty and would not keep its charge. It was replaced under guarantee, with a different better make but the supplier will have nothing to do with the fault it caused.

One of the worst recent main dealer rip offs recently was with my neighbors Peugeot. His wipers stopped working so he got a new motor. I asked him if he had checked it was defo that and he said it will be. It wasn't. they still didn't work. So he went to a local garage who said it was the control ECU that works all the gauges and switches thats bust. He will need to replace the engine ECU, the dash control ECU, immobilizer etc. with a second hand one. That didn't work, said it was because he had auto lights. So off to the main dealer, I went with him. £695.00 + VAT to replace the ECU that controls all the switches and dash. But as they now only supplied one unit for all models they would not guarantee it unless he had the car checked out first. If they fitted it without this pre inspection to check its suitability then they would not remove it or give him his money back if it did not work. So he paid the £49.95 + VAT. The report was that all would be OK.

Took the car in to get it fixed. The receptionist said that they would fit the ECU but would not guarantee it or remove it if it did not work. The same one who told him that to guarantee the work he needed the check. I stepped in and asked to see a manager reminding her of her earlier statements. She went off but the manager would not come out and they insisted on the conditions. I said OK we are now going to Trading Standards, that worked. They agreed to the original deal.

We went to pick the car up and they said its done and all working. However there is a wiring fault and it needs a part loom fitting. No it doesn't said I. Yes it does the electrician says that hes tested it all out and the rear fog light is out and its a wiring short. No its not its the bulb gone. How much. £275.00 for the loom plus labour at £95.00/ hr. plus VAT. Well how long will it take? We cannot quote that because it depends how long it takes to find the short. You've just quoted for the part loom so you know where it is. Well no that's what the electrician says. We will leave it thanks.

On the way home we got a bulb and put it in. Still works.

Up date the old reprogrammed ECU works and the message center accepts it so no expensive visit to the main dealer needed.
And the difference to a small trader he said no labour charges. I know he's an old Friend but I thought that was too much of a hit to him. It wasn't his fault the Volvo software gave him the wrong part number, I saw the readout, so he said 20.00, I gave him 40.00 in the end which he was reluctant to accept. That's service.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited